Memories Old and New

The first time I experienced Shakespeare, I was a Junior at Robert E. Lee High School and the Shenandoah Shakespeare Express came and performed Macbeth with 8 black boxes, dressed all in black, and only had handheld props.

I remember just sitting in a circle with my fellow students and being mesmerized and transported to another place and time as I watched the play unfold before my eyes.  I was addicted from that moment on.  This has become extra special now because it is something that my Grandmother and I enjoy doing together.

The time that we take to go to dinner and see a Shakespeare play is priceless and something I will cherish forever.  We are so fortunate to have something so amazing so close to home.

– Candice Martin

Leave a Reply

