From the Mouths of Babes

The Scarboroughs at the Blackfriars Playhouse.

The Scarboroughs at the Blackfriars Playhouse.

My son played a baseball tournament this summer in Staunton and the boys took a tour of your beautiful playhouse. It is hard to impress middle school boys, but you did. After hearing him talk about it, I decided I really needed to get to Staunton myself.

This weekend, my husband and I chose Staunton for our 18th anniversary getaway. We saw a matinee of Romeo and Juliet from the front row and I was just floored by the production. It is such a great space and we really felt a part of the action. We loved every part of the production, including the way that the actors sang and danced prior to the show (and during intermission).

My Facebook post that day sang your praises. If I could have taken a picture inside the theatre, I would have! I am happy to recommend the American Shakespeare Center to everyone. I can’t wait to go back. Perhaps this was the start of a new anniversary tradition…

– Camille Scarborough

Leave a Reply

