My Blackfriars Playhouse Debut

ASC Patron (and occasional performer) Ann Lowe.

ASC Patron (and occasional performer) Ann Lowe.

During the Actors’ Renaissance Season the actors direct themselves in 5 plays over 10 weeks.  With so many lines to learn, they keep their prompter just off stage and say “prithee” when they go up on a line. Earlier this year, I got to play a scene with the incomparable Alizon Glenzer in The Two Noble Kinsmen!

She played the jailer’s daughter, in love with Palomar, who is in jail.  I was sitting on the stage.  She went down on her knees in front of me and implored me how she could make Palomar love her.

Beat.  [Should I say something?!]

Beat.

“Prithee!” I said.

The audience roared and applauded.  Meanwhile, Alison hugged me, whispered that I was “her favorite”, and told me my line was “set him free”.  When the laughter quieted she asked me again how she could make Palomar love her, and I delivered my line.

And that is how I had my debut in a speaking part at the Blackfriars’ Playhouse!

– Ann Lowe

Leave a Reply

