“My love as deep; the more I give to thee.”

When I was a student teacher in 2012, I taught Romeo and Juliet to 120+ high school freshman. I never really enjoyed Shakespeare until I was a junior in college and even then, Romeo and Juliet wasn’t at the top of my list for favorite plays by him. However, when my cooperating teacher told me that I would be teaching Romeo and Juliet, I decided to give it my all. I never in a million years thought a bunch of 14 year old students would appreciate a Shakespeare play, but Romeo and Juliet was a hit with (almost) all of them.

Ever since then, Romeo and Juliet has had a special place in my heart. Because of this, when I saw that the ASC would be performing Romeo and Juliet, I immediately jumped at the chance to get tickets to a showing. Even though it takes around 3 hours to drive to Staunton, it was worth it to see that performance.

I had been wanting to go back ever since I saw Taming of the Shrew with my Shakespeare class in 2010 and I finally got that chance. I’ll admit, there were a few moments that the play was so well done, that I actually started to tear up because of how amazing it was. Even my boyfriend, who isn’t the biggest Shakespeare fan, thought it was fantastic and has since asked when I want to go back to see another performance.

Long story short, thank you, ASC, for doing this play justice. Your take on it was incredible and deepened my love for that play even more.

– Gretchen Smither

Leave a Reply

