A Midsummer Night’s Dream Come True

DarleneI’m a native Pennsylvanian, and it was in 2004 when I first stumbled upon Staunton, Virginia. Wow, did I ever find this town charming! In ’04, Staunton was a town on the upswing, with so many attractive facets to it — great food, architecture, and culture. I took the Saturday walking tour, and it was then that I first laid eyes on the Blackfriars Playhouse.

My friend and I decided to see a show – A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Although that happened nearly ten years ago, I vividly recall my feeling of awe, sitting near the back under the balcony, looking around and thinking to myself… “who built this place?!”

I never in my wildest dreams would have thought that one day I would become the ASC Touring Operations Manager, responsible for booking the touring troupe into universities and performing arts centers throughout the U.S. Thanks to a career change that brought me permanently to Staunton and to the ASC in 2010, I not only went on to meet the two terrific founders who built this place, but I am now able to contribute to the ASC’s ongoing success.

Every time I book a show, I get really happy! It is an honor to play a part in bringing our top-notch performances to places far and wide. It’s been an amazing three years with the ASC; ASC Rocks

 – Darlene Schneck, Tour Operations Manager, American Shakespeare Center

Leave a Reply

